Inspirational · Poetry · Quotes

She walks in Beauty

This is the poem that inspired me to write I remember it as a kid, being amazed at how words can come together to create something so beautiful and perfect that reading it puts a smile on your face.

I cannot think of another piece that comes close to celebrating the beauty of a woman in so many words.The poet starts by admiring her physical aspects and goes on to compliment the inner goodness that reflects on her countenance; making her all the more alluring.

It is believed that Byron wrote this after a brief encounter with Mrs Anne Beatrix Wilmont the wife of his cousin, Sir Robert Wilmot at a Ball in the London home of Lady Sitwell.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(c) Newstead Abbey; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation
George Gordon Byron

She walks in beauty, like the night
Of cloudless climes and starry skies;
And all that’s best of dark and bright
Meet in her aspect and her eyes:
Thus mellowed to that tender light
Which heaven to gaudy day denies.

One shade the more, one ray the less,
Had half impaired the nameless grace
Which waves in every raven tress,
Or softly lightens o’er her face;
Where thoughts serenely sweet express
How pure, how dear their dwelling place.

And on that cheek, and o’er that brow,
So soft, so calm, yet eloquent,
The smiles that win, the tints that glow,
But tell of days in goodness spent,
A mind at peace with all below,
A heart whose love is innocent!

Lord Byron

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I hope you enjoyed reading this, let me know what got you hooked on to Poetry 📜

~𝔁𝓸 𝓢𝓽𝓸𝓻𝔂𝓽𝓮𝓵𝓵𝓮𝓻

6 thoughts on “She walks in Beauty

  1. I absolutely adore Byron’s ‘She Walks in Beauty’, but in terms of the poem/s that hooked me I would have to go for John Donne’s ‘A Valediction: Forbidding Mourning’ and ‘The Good-Morrow’.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing Jade !
      I love ‘The Good-Morrow’ the hopeless romantic in me believes Love/True love is literally out-of-this world and beyond the barriers/norms of society.

      quoting Donne —”Where can we find two better hemispheres
      Without sharp north, without declining west?”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. One of my all-time favourite poems! Thank you for sharing this 🙂 For me, with regards to Byron it was this:

    When We Two Parted

    When we two parted
    In silence and tears,
    Half broken-hearted
    To sever for years,
    Pale grew thy cheek and cold,
    Colder thy kiss;
    Truly that hour foretold
    Sorrow to this.

    The dew of the morning
    Sunk chill on my brow–
    It felt like the warning
    Of what I feel now.
    Thy vows are all broken,
    And light is thy fame;
    I hear thy name spoken,
    And share in its shame.

    They name thee before me,
    A knell to mine ear;
    A shudder comes o’er me–
    Why wert thou so dear?
    They know not I knew thee,
    Who knew thee too well–
    Long, long shall I rue thee,
    Too deeply to tell.

    In secret we met–
    In silence I grieve,
    That thy heart could forget,
    Thy spirit deceive.
    If I should meet thee
    After long years,
    How should I greet thee?–
    With silence and tears

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

